Click here to play

email

1 2 3 4 5 6
   Share on Facebook  
ahava_yin  #387321  Tue, 03 Jul 07 05:52 AM

Hi, I keep receiving letters saying

"This email was sent from a user at englishforums.com. Replying
to this email will be sent back to the user via normal email.

Hello dear, My name is **. My hobbies are ***. I was impressed when i saw your profile and will like to discuss important matter with you and as well as establishe a long lasting relationship with you. In addition, please kindly contact me direct with my e-mail address: ***Waiting to hear from you soonest. With love. ***."

those letters are virtually the same and my profile tells nothing actually. I doubt they are spam letters. Have you got similar letters? Am I just worrying too much?

Thanks

  
Top 200 Contributor
Joined on Thu, Sep 9 2004
Full Member (312)
Hi, I'm learning English. Your notes help me a lot. I love the forum.
Mister Micawber  #387360  Tue, 03 Jul 07 08:05 AM

Yes, it is spam.  Do not reply to it.

We have banned several perpetrators of this sort of spam recently.  If you could give us the user name(s) we will ensure that they are either already banned or will be.

Thank you for notifying us, Ahava.

MM
  
Top 10 Contributor
Joined on Wed, Aug 4 2004
Yokohama
Veteran Member (21,070)
SystemAdministratorTeachers
'The question is,' said Humpty Dumpty, 'which is to be master-- that's all.'
ahava_yin  #387519  Tue, 03 Jul 07 03:47 PM

Thank you Mister Micawber for your note, and for all that you have done for the wonderful forum. The following is the mail addresses and the names given in the mails. All the best!

tina_akoh@yahoo.com     Tina1122

glory_150@yahoo.co.uk      Glory22

glory_160@yahoo.co.uk      Mako33

  
Francesca  #387525  Tue, 03 Jul 07 04:08 PM
And I have just received another e-mail like that from a member whose nickname is Akoh33
  
Top 50 Contributor
Joined on Tue, Oct 11 2005
Grand Duchy of Tuscany
Contributing Member (1,619)
Moderator
Kooyeen  #387528  Tue, 03 Jul 07 04:17 PM
Damn, I didn't know about this. I just checked my mail, and I found an email like that, sent by Akoh33, if I'm not mistaken. But it seems that account has already been deleted from here.
Anyway, don't you ever reply to those emails! They are looking for your email in order to send spam to an active mail account.

Spamming is a crime (but not everywhere), but reporting the abuse very rarely leads to prosecution, unless the spammer is involved in some fraud or pornography. The only thing you can do is keep an eye on the forums, and have quick mods who get rid of spam as soon as they notice it.

  
Top 25 Contributor
Joined on Thu, Dec 22 2005
Italy
Senior Member (3,962)
Moderator
If you don't have a sense of humor already, it's about time you buy one.
Francesca  #387594  Tue, 03 Jul 07 06:50 PM

Indifferent [:|] omg another one right now: nickname Baby1133 ... I really hate these spammers Super Angry [8o|]

  
Kooyeen  #387662  Tue, 03 Jul 07 10:08 PM
I got four emails from Baby1133, they are all the same and they are the same as the one I got earlier from Akoh or whatever that name was. It is a bot spamming...

Ok, I just created a new accout here, I created BabyAAA. You can delete that account, because no one will ever use it, since I created it. I wanted to see if there was some kind of CAPTCHA (Completely Automated Public Turing Test), that stuff that makes sure you are a human and not a machine. I didn't remember if there was something like that when I registered, but now there's nothing. That means there could be a bot registering a lot of fake users automatically...


  
MrPedantic  #387677  Tue, 03 Jul 07 10:51 PM

Thanks for the information – all those names are now restricted...

  
Top 10 Contributor
Joined on Tue, Oct 12 2004
Veteran Member (12,047)
Proficient SpeakerSystemAdministrator
...opella forensis / adducit febris...
hitchhiker  #387777  Wed, 04 Jul 07 07:14 AM

Due to the fact that the user is not posting, we don't have an IP - i   did a search for any new logins from @yahoo.co.uk, and there was only glory_170@yahoo.co.uk - so i banned that one too.

perhaps somebody can entice this user to PM them - with one of our 'private' user accounts; 'hey baber, I really wanna talk but icant send on that email, pls give me aother to sent to.' (Use bad English, and make mistakes)

The PM will contain the IP, and then I can ban the 'block'

f

  
Top 25 Contributor
Joined on Mon, Nov 18 2002
Malta, Europe
Senior Member (3,479)
Proficient SpeakerSystemAdministrator
"OK, so ten out of ten for style, but minus several million for good thinking, yeah?"
1 2 3 4 5 6
AddThis Feed Button RSS Feed: Help
© 2008 MediaCET Ltd.
Terms and Conditions & Terms of Service