It's twenty minutes past the hour--means what?

This question has been answered · 2 replies
Hi,

What does "It's twenty minutes past the hour" mean in the CNN report , should be after or at the end of some particular topic.

Thank you!
Full Member221
Approved answer (verified by )
CNN reports are international and cross many time zones. After a particular report the presenter will announce the time as being a number of minutes past “the hour” . “The hour” depends on the country or time zone of the listener.

For example – “It's twenty minutes past the hour” could be :-

In France 13:20

In the UK 12:20

In New York 07:20

Hope this helps
Contributing Member1,001
Teachers: Users in this role are certified teachers. This may include DELTA, CELTA, TESOL, TEFL qualified professionals. Email a scan of your qualification to an admin, if you wish to be considered.Trusted Users: Trusted users are allowed to use additional capabilities of the site such as private messaging to all users and various other advanced features. You cannot join this role unless you are promoted by an administrator.
ALL REPLIES
Thanks!
Live chat
Registered users can join here