We have partnered with TradePub to bring you free industry magazines and resources - no coupons or credit cards required!

Visit: englishforums.tradepub.com


1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Share this topic:
Anonymous, 292 days ago
Hi

Thank you very much for the forum entrances. I just come from the homepage of WhiteSmoke and really intended to purchase it (at least they have the refund policy, I thought to myself). LUCKILY, I checked the forums first and didn't buy it and will never buy it!!! Obviously, they are sceamers, there is no doubt.

Best,
Alex
This is a live chat room, hosted on the chat page. You can also click here to see the chat in fullscreen.
ASaleh  +  670733 Thu, 12 Feb 09 03:31 PM
I got the program a few months ago...so far,  it works for me and has been a good source of help. I didnt get how ti install it at first and called the company someone helped me fix the problem. Other than that, it takes care of mistakes and has pointed out little things. I dunno...I like it. I dont except every suggestion bc sometimes theyre wrong, but its been a help and has found some things I no I would not have gotten.

I think the people with problems should try to call again, it worked for me.
Joined on Mon, Jan 26 2009
New Member 02
summerlove, 281 days ago
and Whitesmoke is still a scam.
Anonymous, 272 days ago

Whitesmoke..

I am an English teacher in Germany.

 I was browsing and came accross the advert for this software. I started the registration process and then got cautious about the product - so cancelled out.

 Since that date  (6.02.09) I have recieved over 2800 yes, two thousdand 800 spam messages about bying this software. I cannot stop them - they are sent to my web site address.

 I will probably have to  redesign my web site and loose this email address.

 Do some careful research - this is a SCAM!!!!!!

summerlove  +  678405 Sun, 22 Feb 09 01:42 PM
The sign--up system on the Whitesmoke website is a deliberate  form of what  is called 'e-mail harvesting' to  build up  a huge database of e-mails for sending  spam to.

Yes, the entire concept  of Whitesmoke is a scam in  more ways than one.
There are ways of preventing your e-mail server from receiving this spam without  needing  to  redesign your website,
Anonymous, 271 days ago
 

I bought WhiteSmoke on impulse and it is the worst pruchase I have ever made! What a complete waste of money! The corrective features are so inconsistent and highly inaccurate. I do not know how people are ever going to learn English with WhiteSmoke; I think my English would probably digress!

 I installed it a second time just to be sure I was corrrect in my assessment; it just got uninstalled a second time and the file was promptly deleted.

Please don't buy it, I cannot recommend it to anyone, even someone who is new to the English language.

Leonard.

Anonymous, 243 days ago

I went to www.bbb.org. I should have gone to the comic page: F- (So says the bbb) F- is a real comic page, and the bbb gave Whitesmoke an Fas well. When a 'seller' doesn't put the price, terms of sale, or his contact address on his website, I don't need the bbb to tell me it is a SCAM. I hope that people who bought this are able to get a refund, or a good, useful working version.

Anonymous, 231 days ago
Glad I read the posts here. Almost bought whitesmoke; called the order line and got an unpleasant if not shadey fella appearantly from some foreign call center.
Anonymous, 229 days ago

White Smoke is a an expensive scam. The program's suggestions are more often wrong than right. It fails to pick out passive voice, end of sentence prepositions, adverbs ending in "ly". I could just go on and on about what the program can't do. Microsoft Word has a much better spell and grammar checker. Most people don't realize that when they buy the program, it will only work if you are connected to the Internet. I purchased the upgrade in hopes that there had been some improvement but the only change that I could see was the user interface. New buttons won't help my writting and are not worth what I stupidly paid for the upgrade.

 

My suggestion, don't buy this program. Look at RightWriter or Wizards for Words.

 

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
© MediaCet Ltd. 2009, v5.0.3607.32596. All content posted by our users is a contribution to the public domain, this does not include imported usenet posts.*
For web related enquires please contact us on webmaster@mediacet.com, status updates are available at status.mediacet.com.
*Usenet post removal: Use 'X-No-Archive'. You may not have understood that your posts would end up in the public domain. Please send proof of the poster's email, we will remove immediately.