Would all of my posts be deleted if I delete my account?

kat2784

Would all of my posts be deleted if I delete my account?

Short answer: no, they wouldn't be deleted.

Longer answer: At the moment account deletion almost never works. This is because of a bug in our software for which there is no easy fix. We're looking at replacing all our software, but it is likely to be several months (at least) before this happens. On the rare occasions when account deletion works, it removes your username and profile, and assigns all your posts to "Anonymous". The posts themselves are still there, though, and if your username was mentioned in a reply it won't be changed there. You can ask for specific posts to be deleted, but our general policy is that we don't delete posts that have received replies. Even if we aren't willing to delete a post, we may be willing to do some minor editing, perhaps to remove personal information. Please note that Google (and other search engines) store cached versions of the site, and these aren't always updated promptly. As a result, a post that has been deleted or edited may continue to show up in search results in its original form for some time, and this isn't something we have any control over.