Birmingham is a city in the county West Midlands. London is also a city but which county does it belong to?
1 2
It doesn't belong in any county - although parts of Greater London are sometimes included in a county (geographically) as well as a London Borough (economically).

London is divided into a number of 'London Boroughs' which take the place of counties.

Basically London is a distinct entity unlike other cities.
what county does london belong to?
what county does kent belong to?
Students: We have free audio pronunciation exercises.

What county does London belong to?
What county does Kent belong to?

Are those real questions or are you looking for a grammar check?
Assuming you're looking for the answers, Nona has already answered no. 1 (see above).
As for no. 2, Kent isa county. Emotion: smile
The previous answer to the London question is not quite complete; London is a city, it has also twice been a county and is today both a city and something akin to a federation of London Boroughs. The City of London is the square mile that can be found on the north of the Thames embankment roughly between London Bridge in the west and Tower Bridge in the east.

The ancient city was anciently considered to be within the county of Middlesex, but since it was granted its own corporation around the time that Henry FitzAilwyn became Mayor in 1189 (reign of Richard I) it has been self-governing with significant rights to make local laws and raise taxes as well as its burgesses being exempted from local taxation elsewhere (this was customary in the charters of medieval English cities). This state of being within a county yet not part of that county has continued ever since.

The County of London was not an ancient county but was formed of parts of the traditional counties of Middlesex, Essex, Surrey and Kent. The County of Middlesex was now vastly reduced in size and population and its administrative headquarters, County Hall, was now in another County from 1889 when the new County of London was established and Westminster changed from being Middlesex and became part of the County of London. In 1900 the County introduced a new tier of Government with the introduction of Boroughs. The new Metropolitan Boroughs, as they were known, included Westminster but did not include the City of London, even though a Royal Commission had been set up to investigate the possibility of the City being within the County. It retained its ancient privileges and its own functions of Government as had been developed to become the Corporation of London with its Common Councillors, Alderman, Sheriff and Lord Mayor.

In 1963 the Greater London Act established the second variant of the County of London with the abolition of the London County Council with its imposing County Hall on the South Bank of the Thames diagonally across the Westminster bridge from the Palace of Westminster (Houses of Parliament). The new Greater London Council commenced in 1965 and further absorbed parts of Surrey, Kent, Essex and also took parts of Hertfordshire and Buckinghamshire too. The new area finally absorbed the majority of the remaining vestiges of the old county of Middlesex (the very last part was placed under the auspices of the new revised Surrey County Council). The County now covered most of the old Metropolitan Police District which had been in existence since bfore the first County of London appeared.

After the abolition of the Greater London Council (GLC) in 1986 the various functions of the County passed to the constituent Boroughs and a number of quasi-governmental organizations many of which were unelected. In November 1999 the Greater London Assembly Act created a new body with an assembly and an executive Mayor. This latest development has been the cause of a great deal of confusion to Londoners and non-Londoners alike. The City of London is still not a part of the GLA area and elects a Lord Mayor, the Lord Mayor of London is the titular head of the Corporation of the Cty of London and has no responsibilities to the GLA. The GLA is a representative body with members elected from the constituent London Boroughs, which includes the City of Westminster, but not the City of London, it does however have a Mayor, the Mayor of London is the executive head of the budgets for the GLA with the assembly itself having the function of maintaining a check on the way that the Mayor performs his/her functions. So there are two Londons and two Mayors, so far, so good... the there is the Police. Ignoring the fact that the British Transport Police and the Royal Parks Police and the Ministry of Defence Police are all properly constituted official police forces and have some specific jurisdiction within the area of Greater London, the Policing of London is essentially the responsibility of the Metropolitan Police under the leadership of the Commissioner of Police and Receiver (to give his full title), except that the City of London never came under the jurisdiction f the Metropolitan Police either, instead it has the City of London Police under the leadership of the Commissioner of Police for the City of London (these are the officers whose flat caps are trimmed with a red chequered band instead of the deep navy blue of other forces, and the tall helmets worn by male officers in uniform have a crest like the old firemans helmets).

If nothing else, this little text has provided a little entetainment and a host of potential pub quiz questons of trivia that no-one knew that they needed to know :-)

John, thank you for such an explanatory answer.

Best wishes,
Students: Are you brave enough to let our tutors analyse your pronunciation?
London is a distinct entity of lots of different boroughs! is also known as the london borough! is also known as Greater London!
haha lol fail... kent is in maidstone Emotion: smile
Anonymoushaha lol fail... kent is in maidstone
Isn't it the other way around? Emotion: smile
Site Hint: Check out our list of pronunciation videos.
Show more